State of the Mets: Pitching Rotation

January 3, 2009

I recently saw a preview of the Mets’ projected five-man starting rotation. And let me tell you, if the season were to start today, I would warn fans to heed on the side of caution. When I continued to scroll down towards the names that were in place for the fourth and fifth starters, Jonathon Niese and Bobby Parnell, I developed an ugly feeling in my stomach.

“All I kept hearing in the streets of New York when you go to get bagels in the morning was, ‘Please, address the bullpen,'” Mets GM Omar Minaya has said. He later added, “Well, to you Mets fans, we’ve addressed the bullpen.”

Now, Omar has to address the other side of his pitching staff, the starters. I’m not deaf. I see the headlines. I am well aware that the Mets had made an offer for Derek Lowe. But some insiders have said it was a “low-ball” offer. Who knows, due to the current economic situation, there just may be fewer clubs interested in front-line starters with high price tags? This would be to the Mets benefit.

I have to believe in the Mets organization in that they are looking out for the fan’s best interests. I just don’t want some poor guy losing his lunch this season because Mr. Niese or Mr. Parnell threw one too many hangers to major league hitters.

Leave a Reply

