A Win Bobby V Would Be Proud Of

May 5, 2009

13sandomir_190_1

Watching the Mets play the Atlanta Braves at Turner Field usually leaves me in disgust. The end result most of the time is me slamming my fist into the arm of the couch as I yell, “Come On,” at the television screen. Throughout the first five innings of last night’s Mets game, it seemed to be heading in that very same direction. What was I to do? Listen to Gary and Keith slog through the entire SNY broadcast discussing such enlightening topics as their long delay atop a South Carolina airport tarmac or better yet, sit through an anemic Mets offense that looked like it was preparing itself for a long uneventful night.

Luckily for me, the MSG Network had scheduled the Japanese baseball documentary, The Zen of Bobby V, to run at the same time as the Mets/Braves game. At that point in the game, it was easy for me to choose between the insanely passionate fans of the Chiba Lotta Marines than to endure the irritating rhythm of the Tomahawk chop by those even-keeled, Braves fans. However, the last straw for me was a quick cut to Braves pitcher Tom Glavine, the guy who single-handedly ruin the 2007 Mets season on the very last day. Okay, I’d had enough!

Now back to former Mets manager Bobby Valentine promoting Japanese beer and burgers that were named after him. Maybe not as exciting as before, I then switched back to the Mets game. Top of the sixth, Daniel Murphy on first, Carlos Beltran is at the plate, and the Mets are down by three. Whack! Beltran hits what would be the first of two 2-run homers on the night raising his NL-leading batting average to an unbelievable, four hundred. Wow! I couldn’t help it. I had to see how this one would turn out. I’ll just have to remember to check to see the next time Bobby V is showing. David Wright would go on to follow Beltran’s blast with one of his own to put the Mets up, 4-3 en route to a 6-4 Mets win. Bobby’s Mets weren’t very successful against the Braves in his day, but today’s game would’ve made him proud.

Leave a Reply

