I May Have Single-Handedly Figured Out the Mets

July 9, 2009

For the past three months of the season, I had been carrying Mets left fielder turned first baseman Daniel Murphy on my head-to-head fantasy baseball team. As Mets fans know, Murphy started the season off strong, struggled a bit in May and June, and now has remained stagnant at best. Prior to last night’s game, Murphy’s last 31 at-bats have managed to produce just five hits, drive in only one run, and score just the same. It would be fair to say that his statistics are hurting my fantasy team and not helping it. Being the loyal Mets fans that I am, I decided to stick with the young left-handed hitting first baseman for as long as I could.

Then, something dawned on me. By applying Murphy’s law (no pun intended), I conjured up the theory that if I dropped the promising Mets farmhand he quite possibly could start producing like he did earlier in the season. I know what you’re thinking. My quick judgment to abandon a struggling Mets player in need could be considered a tad harsh. But, hear me out. Since I have given Daniel Murphy the heave-ho, he has gone 2 for 4 with a run scored. In my opinion, those are mighty good stats for a fantasy player who does not start everyday. Not to mention that his performance offensively was a spark for an otherwise ailing ball club. Add in his defensive gem last night which I must say is one for the highlight reel and you’ve got yourself a proven theory.

What we have learned from this is if all Mets fans proceeded to drop every Mets player on their fantasy rosters then there may be the possibility that the Mets may never lose another game again.

Leave a Reply

